Hawkesbury Writers

Hawkesbury Writers is a small group of people seeking to preserve and celebrate the social history of their much-loved village of Hawkesbury Upton by collecting and publishing the memories of its residents.

The group was founded by Sam Allen, Jenny Harris,  June Hawkins, Liz Howard, and Audrey Macarthy, who led the production of “A Monument to Hawkesbury  – A Village Remembered” in 1994.  This first book has continued to be a popular seller ever since it was published.

Jenny Harris, Liz Howard, Sam Allen, Betty Salthouse, Anne Weaver, Bill Fairney and Debbie Young compiled its sequel, “A Monument to Hawkesbury – The Next Generation” in 2010. The publication of this volume was made possible thanks to a generous grant from the Quartet Community Foundation to cover production costs.

The same team of writers, with the welcome addition of Barry Yuill, published the third and final volume “A Monument t0 Hawkesbury – The Way We Were” in 2014.

All Hawkesbury Writers’ profits from the sales of both books are donated to local community groups benefitting villagers of all ages, from Hawkesbury Primary School, Hawkesbury Youth Club and the Skate Park Appeal to the Drama Group and the Senior Citizens.